Just In Time To Make Me Feel Great About Going Back To Uni…

… Terence Kealey, vice-chancellor of the University of Buckingham, has been an utter douche.

Joy. Of. Joys.

You know what’s reasonable for me to need to be concerned about when I go back to uni?

My modules, my timetables, my exams, my finances, my notes… the list goes on. It’s not pleasant, granted, but it’s kind of expected that you might have to think about those things.


You know what’s not reasonable for me to need to be concerned about when I go back to uni?

Whether my male lecturers are trying to look down my top.


How a man clever enough to be a professor can be stupid enough to be such an entitled, arrogant, heteronormative, sexist shit-for-brains astounds me.

Or, you know, maybe he’s not that stupid. Maybe he was smart enough to know that he wouldn’t really get called out on it. After all, it’s only the NUS Womens’ Officer who’s objected. Not anybody important, like that spokesman from the University and Colleges Union. It’s not like anybody with any power to do anything cares.

I feel stabbity.


One Comment on “Just In Time To Make Me Feel Great About Going Back To Uni…”

  1. LiseyDuck says:

    YES. Only at Buckingham (a private uni) would the VC get away with being so openly crass, but I have no doubt that equally vile people are scattered around academia. If it’s any consolation the men I work with tend to be either critical of Kealey or unwilling to admit otherwise in front of women! I posted the link to that story on facebook, calling him an arsehole, and was quite happy that the criticisms I got were focussed on the fact that I could have found a better insult… ;)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.