It Turns Out I Wasn’t Dreaming

A day or two ago, my alarm clock woke me up by broadcasting the dulcet tones of John Humphrys (he of BBC Radio 4’s Today Programme fame) into my bedroom. This is perfectly normal and nothing to be afraid of.

However, as I lay there, probably more than half-asleep, I thought I heard some mention of a story about babies having a lower risk of death if they were born in normal office hours. This did not feel normal, and, since J claimed to know nothing about it when I asked him later that morning, I assumed I’d merely been dreaming.

Well, it turns out that I wasn’t.

“The analysis of more than one million births in Scotland over two decades found the risk of death for babies born out of hours, while small, was a third higher than for those born in the day… Those born between 0900 and 1700 on Monday to Friday were classified as being within normal working hours, all others as out-of-hours, the British Medical Journal reported.”

This is one of those times in which I simply don’t know what to do with the information I’ve been given.

3 Comments on “It Turns Out I Wasn’t Dreaming”

  1. kirstente says:

    Me and T once both thought we’d dreamt about pocket bagpipes.

  2. Rachel says:

    That’s a little peculiar. Had somebody been serenading the pair of you?

  3. kirstente says:

    It was an interview on Radio 4. Either that or we’ve been together so long our subconsciouses have merged.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.