Vive la France!

For the simple reason that whilst on holiday for a week in a major French city, the only man that pissed me off was…. English.

We were at a service station; J was filling the car, I was in search of a cash machine, looking very much like a lone woman, and as I passed a man standing next to an English-registered yellow van, received that pinnacle of flirtation – “OY OY!!”.
Of course, as a modest and respectable maiden, I ignored said overture and continued on my way, only to discover that there was no cash machine, which prompted me to return in the same direction. This gave the gentleman time to react as before, at which point, my maidenly cover was blown and the international sign for “wanker” may have been used.
He beeped his horn as he exited the car park; I gave him the finger.
A full and frank exchange of ideas, I feel.

And the only cloud in an otherwise wonderful holiday. (Apart from the real clouds, that is!)

After first admitting that my sampling methods (being out and about on my own, both in the service station and in the town in general, whilst J did other things) may contain flaws, I have to ask:

Is it a national thing – are English men always more likely to act like arseholes, and if so, why?
Is it possible that I did not notice French mens’ overtures because of linguistic barriers; are the French simply more subtle in these matters?
What did this man want?

The nationality thing… I don’t know. I haven’t spent enough time in France to know.
I can say that almost every French person I met thought I was French, up to – and in the more bizarre cases including – the point at which I attempted to reply to them. So presumably, the invisible French Creepy Guys didn’t hold back because they could see I was a tourist.
On the other hand, by that logic, the English man may also have assumed that I was French. In which case, why bother? Athough admittedly, he wasn’t shouting anything that you’d need a translator to understand.
It’s perfectly possible that comments might have been made that I didn’t pick up on, because though I do passably well with my tourist French and skills I’ve picked up from taking a Spanish A-level, I wouldn’t be able to understand idiomatic phrases, much less realise if they were aimed at me. I’d most likely walk on oblivious, assuming that the French voices I heard were talking to each other.

As for the third query – I can only assume that the Creepy Guy wanted attention. Any attention. Even if it was a woman in a car park gesturing in no uncertain terms her (low) opinion of him.
I can’t honestly believe that anybody would be thick enough to think they’d get laid by crass shouting. Or maybe it was just that lovely Creepy Guy tactic of making sure you know that they’ve checked you out. And that they’re going to stare at your arse as long as they can.
Ugh, I feel unclean.

Any suggestions or theories about my questions, or any others that I’ve ommited – on a postcard to the usual address, please!
And in the meantime, Vive La France!
A nation that knows the meaning of good food😀



Leave a Reply

