Look – A Stereotype!!!

Sometimes I start doubting myself. Not often, because as we all know, I am a genius and entirely modest with it, but sometimes, when I haven’t had enough tea, or food, or outlets for my prattling mind.
Sometimes I start to wonder whether I’m right, believing what I do. Whether my particular brand of voluble feminism is accurate. Whether I’m just being a bit paranoid, after all.

And then I get conversations in which the following conclusions are reached by my all-seeing, all-knowing colleagues:

I hate men. Because I am no longer pleasant to Creepy Guys. Duh.
Therefore, I am frigid, and incapable of passion.
And they’re not quite sure why my boyfriend would want to be with me, due to the aforementioned hating of Teh Sex.
Because he is a man, and that is all he wants. (Sorry, J)
And I am frustrated, sexually, because even though I think I don’t want sex, I do really, and this spills over into my entire mindset.
Which is why I do things like point at the head of the bank of England when he’s interviewed on the news and say “I want his job!”
Therefore, feminism is evil.
And it wants to take over the world.*

I remember this when the “hahaha you’re craaaaazy” thoughts rear their ugly heads. And this teaches me that I will fucking well be paranoid if I want to be, because I’m quite often right. And modest, too.

Also, on a related note, whilst having a slightly bemused conversation with a couple of other women about the pros and cons of letting relative strangers rip your eyebrows out, one hair at a time, and debating whether letting a relative stranger near your eyebrows with a razor blade is any better (it isnt; apparently, you bleed if they do it wrong**)…. well, I had to add to the debate in my own special way.
“Oh, but my way’s so much easier – I just run around, free and hairy!”

And I refused to feel ashamed when the head chef made it clear he’d heard every word.
Well, fuck you, funny man***, because I don’t think you would have let us know you’d been evesdropping if we’d stuck to knowing our feminine places in the world. Obviously, looking like a child to gain points in the fuckable category is our calling.

But that is a post for a different time, because it’s just a whole different breed of sick, twisted and wrong.

Happy, happy, happy – that’s your resident genius’s state of mind!

*This line is the only one that has been exaggerated
**A shocker brought to you by the University of the Bleeding Obvious
***My thanks to Dan for this expletive, which amuses me greatly

One Comment on “Look – A Stereotype!!!”

  1. Ginger says:

    Hello!

    I’m Ginger from Diary of a Freak Magnet, and I’m hosting the 61st Carnival of Feminists. I noticed that you’ve linked to my blog, and I enjoy your writing to, so I’m extending a personal invitation to the Carnival I’m hosting. Deadline is July 20. Please follow this link to check it out:

    http://diaryofafreakmagnet.blogspot.com/2008/07/call-for-submissions.html

    If you’re not interested, no worries, but I’d love to have you participate. Any questions, just drop a line.

    Best,
    Ginger
    diaryofafreakmagnet.blogspot.com


Leave a Reply

