A Quick Comment on Marriage

Sometimes, when I think about all of those girls I used to know at school – you know, the “I’m-going-to-marry-a-rich-husband-and-arse-around-all-day” girls – I wonder what happened to them. Whether they did marry, whether they will marry, and whether they’d be freaked out by the thought of me being engaged.

And sometimes I wonder whether they ever realised that the rich husband they wanted would be able to make big important medical decisions if they were half-dead and incapable of making their own.

Well…. It’d be ok if you married a doctor, I suppose!


4 Comments on “A Quick Comment on Marriage”

  1. vesta44 says:

    Not necessarily……what if your relationship with that doctor spouse had been going downhill? Would you really want that person making life or death decisions for you? That’s why it’s so important to tell other people in your life exactly what you want to happen if you ever end up in that situation. And it’s an even better idea to have a living will drawn up with your express wishes drawn out in black and white. I don’t care how much I love someone, I don’t want them having that kind of power over my life/death (and I don’t want that kind of power over them either).

  2. Rachel says:

    Well, quite🙂
    And I’m not sure where the law stands if you’re separating from your spouse – I mean, if you’ve decided you want out, they’re probably the last person you want to make those decisions….

  3. Kirsten says:

    Well, I’m sure there are legal ways of nomination some-one else to have power of attorney.

    Like, for example, a trusted and intelligent friend capable of learning very quickly about whatever medical condition you have, and also scaring doctors.

  4. Catchpole says:

    personally i think u may have to go back to your family, but hey every1 is different and everyone will want or not want somebody to make the dissension


Leave a Reply

