Freshers’ Week Means Free Time…

… In which to find and regurgitate posts like this from the infinite reaches of the blogosphere.

I have a sad feeling that the blog is no longer active, as they haven’t posted much (and not at all since February of this year) so I’m going to do something I don’t ususally do, and copy the whole thing here.
Just in case the blog disappears. Which happens sometimes.

“The comments upon self-identified feminist blogs tend to follow a typical pattern. In fact, any blog post that identifies the routine sexism of Western civilization seems likely to generate the same pattern of responses.

As a public service, the Irony Mine has extracted nuggets of raw ore, refined them, and molded them into this, The Universal Feminist Blog Comment Template (version 1.0):

Attention Blogger:

  1. I am female. Your post describes my experience also. Thanks.
  2. I am male. I feel threatened by your words.
  3. I am male. I feel extremely threatened by your words.
  4. I am male. I don’t get it.
  5. I am male. I don’t get it, but I do feel threatened.
  6. I am male. Won’t you please say something nice about men?
  7. I am male. I command you to say something nice about men.
  8. I am male. If you don’t say something nice about men, I may stop reading your blog.
  9. I am male. If you don’t say something nice about men, I may stop reading your blog. I really mean it!
  10. I am male. If you don’t say something nice about men, I definitely will stop reading your blog. Ha! So there! See if I don’t!
  11. I am male. Have you acknowledged my superior intellect yet?
  12. How about now?
  13. I wish to debate with you about something you’ve written.
  14. I wish to debate with you about something I assume you’ve written.
  15. I wish to debate with you about something I assume you believe.
  16. I wish to debate with you about something I believe.
  17. I wish to debate with you about how smart I am. Feel my rhetorical wrath!
  18. I wish to debate with you about … anything! I just like to debate. Call me Mr. Devil’s Advocate.
  19. Spam, spam, spam, spam
2 Comments on “Freshers’ Week Means Free Time…”

  1. Kirsten says:

    Some of those are very familiar…

  2. Rachel says:

    Yeah, I thought you might remember 🙂
    I would’ve linked them, but I couldn’t work out how…


Leave a Reply

