Reposting: This Might Be Why Your Server Didn’t Smile

Reposted from my now-deleted blog, because I think it does us all good to remember what a shitty, shitty life can be yours if you work in retail…

I woke up at 6.30AM, travelled for over an hour and a half, briefly saw the sun as I got a hurried breakfast of two chocolate croissants, got into work at 9.45, ready to start at 10, worked, had an hour for my lunch at 12.20 (roasted vegetable and feta baguette, salt and vinegar crisps and a cup of tea), worked some more, bought another two chocolate croissants and tea at 3.20 for my tea break, worked some more, had the remains of them and yet another cup of tea at 6.30 for my second tea break, and finished my working day at 9.10PM.
By the time I got out of the shop it was 9.30, at which point I had been awake for a full fifteen hours and was faint from hunger. I got home at 11.15, as the tubes decided not to run. I fell asleep on the bus, missed my stop, and could barely move because my legs, having ached solidly since between tea breaks, had decided to seize up. In a long summers’ day, I have seen the sun for all of about half an hour. And I’ve now been awake for 20 hours. Because Big Posh Department Store has fucked with my body clock.


In fact, the only real good thing about my day today was resigning.

One Comment on “Reposting: This Might Be Why Your Server Didn’t Smile”

  1. vesta44 says:

    Amen! I worked in a drug store as a clerk, and getting breaks at all was next to impossible. Granted, I only worked 8 hour days, but being on my feet for that whole time (on tile-over-concrete floors) killed my back and feet. I only had to drive a mile and a half to get home, but by the time I got home, I had trouble getting out of the car. And if I spent any time relaxing in a chair, when I got up to walk, my feet felt like they were on fire. The best thing I ever did was quit that job (and I don’t even want to go into what fun it was unloading the trucks when merchandise was delivered).


Leave a Reply

