Things Not To Do When Ill

When you have the lurgy, and want to relax quietly in a semi-darkened room, don’t try to read Sexing The Body. You will end up with the book on top of your head when you fall asleep. This does not make you look or feel clever.


Also, although it is interesting, there was a whole chapter on cutting up brains. In my weakened state, I decided that Anne Fausto-Sterling must have some connexion with zombies.

Also also, although it was published in 2000, it presumably took some time to write, because she refers to “something called a listserve…. The comments are read by a group of people hooked together via electronic mail.” Perhaps because I was growing up when the internet prettified itself, and so never participated in forums like that, both the idea and the explanation seem terribly quaint to me. In much the same way that my brother finds it amazing that I existed before DVDs.

At some stage, when I am less ill, I might try to review this in a way that approaches sensible writing. Right now, the only other thing I have to say is that it’s a very dense book. I am only halfway through. And the bloody thing’s a short-term loan from the university library, which means I should be giving it back on Thursday. I’ve already renewed it once, and I only got it out yesterday!

9 Comments on “Things Not To Do When Ill”

  1. Butterflywings says:

    Ha – I remember videos too. I even remember cassette tapes – I feel so old!
    I didn’t really use the Internet until after I left uni – 2002 – so the explanation doesn’t sound that out of place to me – but yeah, just because I’m a bit older than you I think, same thing really :-).

  2. Rachel says:

    I remember cassette tapes! My parents had a really old mini cooper for many years – which my dad liked on the grounds that when it fell apart he could put it back together, and which my mum didn’t like, on the grounds that it often fell apart – and it had a tape player! The excitement!
    We went on holiday with one tape, the Morning Glory album by Oasis, and had the bloody thing on what we’d now call repeat play… except that back then, it just meant turning the tape over, again, and again, and again…!

  3. Lee H says:

    That book is so not about what I thought it would be about.

    (What’s The Story) Morning Glory? is an awesome album that kept impatient young Lee entertained on car rides.

    Speaking of olden times – POGS? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hzelVpgSfVM

  4. Rachel says:

    Really?
    Well, I’ll have finished it soon, and then we can compare notes.
    I still have that album, by the way.
    And yes, I remember pogs 🙂
    I was thinking of doing a series of “nostastalgia” posts either here or on the Fems site, because I rip off all my good ideas from Shakesville! What do you reckon?

  5. Lee H says:

    No notes to compare, I just assumed from the title that it was more of your smut. Possibly involving vampires. In implausible situations. Implausibly sexy.

    I would like to see Rachel nostalgia! I’m sure my mind would be blown by something.

  6. Rachel says:

    SMUT?! How dare you!
    Anyway, I read only the best quality smut, I’ll have you know 🙂 And the situations are only moderately implausible…. *shifty eyes*
    Anyway, I was thinking that I’d quite like to see Lee nostalgia – fancy contributing to a blog? 🙂 Let me know – but it would make me feel cool to run a blog with guest contributors!

  7. Lee H says:

    “This week my dorky friend talks about cool shit from the 1990s! First up, Batman: The Animated Series.”

    It would break the Internet in half.

  8. Rachel says:

    Hah! That’s fantastic!
    Read your email, dammit! And then tell me you agree to everything!

  9. Butterflywings says:

    Ha ha!
    I want a Mini Cooper 🙂


Leave a Reply

