Words of Wisdom from my Mother

“Just because somebody belongs to a minority group, that doesn’t mean they’re capable of rational thought”


I’ll have to make this into a sampler, I think, and hang it on my wall, so that the next time I’m shocked to hear (for instance) that a group of lesbians have told a bisexual woman in a relationship with a man that “as soon as [she] finds a nice girlfriend, [she]’ll become a real lesbian” I can look at it and keep calm. Instead of (for instance) telling the lesbians that, if that’s true, all they need is a good boyfriend each to make them into real straight women.


3 Comments on “Words of Wisdom from my Mother”

  1. Jemima Aslana says:

    I dunno. I think your own bitingly sarcastic response would be totally deserved. Of course biting sarcasm is only good if you’re calm on the inside – so perhaps a combination of the two?😀

    That’s what I usually do, though it often means that people think I’m raving in anger because they can’t tell biting sarcasm from flailing fury. Oh well😛

  2. Rachel says:

    I love the phrase “flailing fury” – I’ll have to use it more often in conversation!

    Problem is that it’s easy to tell when I’m not calm – going bright red and shouting kind of gives it away🙂

  3. Jemima Aslana says:

    Well, I have no copyrights so go right ahead😛

    I was also speaking of incidents on messageboards and such. In writing many people have great trouble distinguishing a thorough take-down of something shitty from an angry rant.

    Of course it did result in me being called a “Messiah of every sub/culture” which was kind of an awesome title LOL so perhaps there’s something to be said of people not being able to tell whether I’m angry or just sarcastically miffed.


Leave a Reply

